October 14th, 2007

My cover!

Naomi & Ely's No Kiss List



since i've been pretty much feeling awful and awfully tired(non-yay), i spent a big chunk of the day resting in bed and reading (yay!) and while i'm not one to write write book reviews, i must recommend the highly entertaining and romantic Naomi and Ely's No Kiss List---especially for fans of Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist, which is one of my all time faves. i picked it up this morning and finished it ten minutes ago. always a sign of a good read. david levithan's voice as ely is entrancing, and i loved the relationship between him and his new boyfriend, bruce 2. the story and voices and relationships were just very, very real. and tender. and confused. just like real life. and the final thoughts in the novel were brilliantly true. i also loved the references to dawson's creek and buffy the vampire slayer and the fact that there are so many pop cultural references when we are always told NOT to write real life pop cultural references because it will 'date' your book.

except for the distracting little icons in naomi's voice (tiny airplanes, female signs etc.) i loved it. have you guys read any 'one sitting' books lately?